HomeResources for TeachingGuest Speakers

Guest Speakers

Virtual class visits provide unique opportunities to creatively engage students during remote learning and offer them first-hand access to scholars, authors, and filmmakers whose work they are studying. Cinegogía maintains a list of Latin American film scholars who have expressed interest in making virtual visits to undergraduate and graduate classrooms, as well as their thematic area(s), countries of expertise and language(s) of presentation. Details regarding availability, scheduling, honorarium, and platforms should be discussed directly with the guest speaker. 

If you are interested in being added to the guest speaker list, please send your name, contact information, area(s) of expertise, CV, and a brief description of your qualifications as an invited speaker to cinegogia@gmail.com

Name, Affiliation Contact Information Countries/Films Topics Language
Michelle Farrell,
Fairfield University
mfarrell3@fairfield.edu

Cuba
Venezuela
Brazil

  • Piracy, alternative distribution, Netflix
  • Women, gender

English
Spanish
Portuguese

Reighan Gillam,
University of Southern California
rgillam@usc.edu

Brazil

  • Afro-Latin films
English
Jeffrey Middents,
American University
middents@american.edu

Mexico
Peru

  • Auteurism
  • Transnational film
English
Spanish
Carolina Rocha,
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
crocha@siue.edu

Argentina
Colombia
Uruguay

  • Children/ Adolescents
  • Transnational-coproductions
  • Historical cinema
  • Masculinities and Women’s films
English
Spanish

Georgia Seminet,
St. Edward's University

georgias@stedwards.edu

México
Central America
U.S. Latinx

  • Children/adolescents
English
Spanish

Beatriz Urraca,
Widener University

burraca@widener.edu 

Argentina
Chile
Colombia

  • Children/Adolescents
  • Ecocinema
  • Women's Film
English
Spanish